Love

IMG_0064“Father, I don’t know what to say but I feel as though You have a message that is very relevant in my life and the lives of Your little ones.  Holy Spirit please help me.

 

You see, it was Friday morning as I was driving to school, that I battled feeling utterly depraved, rejected, bitter and angry over the situation I am in.  This particular Friday I was stewing over my situation and I remember thinking, “Lord, I have no idea how you are possibly going to be able to help me through this one.”  I was speaking about my feeling bitter and angry.  The reason I thought that was because I was enjoying my little bursts of anger and bitterness as I drove to school that morning.  During this season of my life I understand the dangers of bitterness and thanks to Jesus I have been able to recognize it when it creeps in and by His Spirit, He has won the battle against negative feelings.

The transformation started to take place when initially the Lord brought to my attention a verse that I had read a few days previously in Jeremiah 3:1 “They say, ‘If a man divorces his wife, and she goes from him and becomes another man’s, may he return to her again?’  Would not that land be greatly polluted?  But you have played the harlot with many lovers; yet return to Me,” says the Lord.”

Oh, yes Father, I have played the harlot with many lovers; yet return to You.  How many of us live without sin?  How many of us live perfect lives where we walk stride in stride with Jesus?  Not one, Lord for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.  How often have I played the harlot?  Playing the harlot has many faces.  Some ways that we play the harlot are looking for counsel from another source other than the sources that God has given to us through a relationship with Him and His Word.  We play the harlot by not looking to Him, trusting in Him for our sustenance, or giving Him thanks.  We allow harlotry into our lives by working, striving and sweating for fortune, fame, popularity and the fullness of riches that this world has to offer.  It is not important as to your stature in this world.  It is not important whether you have accumulated goods on this earth, how many homes you have.  What is important is whether you gave a little child a glass of water.

Then I realized that I am a Christian, more than a title, more than a cliché.  This is real, Christ in me to the fullness of the Father.  I began immediately to ask forgiveness from the Lord and I realized that He is in control.  God is on the Throne not only in Heaven or over the heavens, not only over the earth and the inhabitants but He is on the Throne over my life personally and practically.  Why shouldn’t I forgive, why shouldn’t I love?  Is my love for others based on their ability to love me back?  Is my love for anybody based on their ability to meet my needs?  If so then I might as well hang up Christianity, in fact if any out there have this thought don’t say you’re a Christian.

Then the Lord gave me this verse, Luke 6:32-33 “But if you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners love those who love them.  And if you do good to those who do good to you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners do the same.”  People may disappoint, lie, cheat, or steal and all I can do is love.  A love that transcends me as a man, that transcends me personally.  I get to demonstrate a love that guards against bitterness, a love that protects against anger, a love that prevents disputes, a love that sustains and is peaceable even when the world is crumbling around us.  This love is from Heaven and can only be found from the One who spans the Universe in the Palm of His Hand.

Christ be with you,

Be sure to: Like, Comment, Subscribe, Share

Lyn Sheperd MSN RN

Leave a Reply

